top of page

Chapter History

Founded at OWU in 1869.


Chapter name: Theta Deuteron

One of the first: 17th founded out of 176 Chapters

Age: 150 years

Founded at OWU: October 25th, 1869

Ceased: February 22nd, 2008

Recolonized: Spring 2012

Most Famous Chapter Graduate Brothers: 

Charles W. Fairbanks: (1872)

Born in Unionville Center, Ohio, Fairbanks moved to Indianapolis after graduating from Ohio Wesleyan University. He became an attorney and railroad financier, working under railroad magnate Jay Gould. Fairbanks delivered the keynote address at the 1896 Republican National Convention and won election to the Senate the following year. In the Senate, he became an advisor to President William McKinley and served on a commission that helped settle the Alaska boundary dispute. He was the 26th Vice President of the United States; namesake of Fairbanks, Alaska. (Learn more)

Norman Vincent Peale: (1920)

Presidential Medal of Freedom recipient, theologian, pastor, and author of The Power of Positive Thinking. Was a personal friend of President Richard Nixon. President Donald Trump attended Peale's church while growing up, as well as marrying his first wife Ivana there. (Learn more)

Most recent Chapter awards:

Jordan Bowl: (2018)

Theta Deuteron had the highest average GPA out of all Phi Gamma Delta Chapters internationally.

John McCarty Chapter Proficiency Award: (2018)

Recognizes all chapters that demonstrate efficiency in operations, maintain strong financial stability, adhere to Fraternity laws and promote high standards of Phi Gamma Delta. 

Certificate of Superior Academic Achievement: (2018)

Awarded to the chapters who have achieved a chapter grade point average higher than the all men’s average for five or more years. Theta Deuteron has received this 6 years in a row.

bottom of page